Diet Coke

For the duration of approximately a year or longer, I had nearly give up soda. I significantly reduced my intake of the high-calorie, high fructose beverage so that when I actually opened up a can for a fizzy treat, I could no longer ingest the entire twelve sweet ounces.

Lately, however, there has been soda in the house. We only buy C2 from Coke, now, but even that has the kind of sweetening that gives you cavities and contributes to the onset of type 2 diabetes, though only half as much as in a regular soda. Since you cannot yet order C2 in restaurants or bars, I have begun to train my tastes in the direction of Diet.

I have always hated Diet Coke, Diet Pepsi, Diet Mountain Dew. I have sometimes managed to drink it in cases of sharing or extreme desperation. Yesterday, though, I needed the caffeine and felt nauseous at the prospect of all those liquid calories entering my system when I knew I wasn’t going to get to the gym. So I chose Diet. And I nursed it for a good couple hours. I did not altogether loathe the experience.

I am loathe, however, to return to my former bad habit of being dependent on soda as a form of caffeine, or being dependent on caffeine, period. But alas, this is graduate school, and when you fall asleep on your books at the table, a solution must be found. And let’s be honest, it’s easier to open a can of Coke than to brew a pot of coffee (or actually leave the house to go get a cup). So, here Sara comes to terms with Diet and the consumption of such a formerly disturbing beverage choice.

One thought on “Diet Coke

  1. Lee says:

    Depending on your tastes, from my observational experience it seems that Diet Vanilla Coke serves as a great gateway to the hard stuff. I’ve been an avid Diet Coker for years, so I’m no example, but certain other members of my households now drink Diet Vanilla without bitching at ALL. And, you’re right. You’re in Grad school. It’s expected. You have the rest of your grownup life to give up the stuff (Down to 1 a day at lunch, I am… sigh…).–>

Leave a Reply

