Rumbles

I find it amazing that the earthquake in the Indian Ocean has caused the Earth to wobble on its axis and speed its rotation by a couple of milliseconds. Not only was this quake massive enough to cause over a hundred thousand deaths from the tsunamis, but it was enough to shift mass toward the center of the Earth, causing a slightly faster spin. Like when you pull in your arms and legs as you spin in your office chair.

The scientists say that the shift is nothing to worry about as far as its effect on us, but it’s still mind blowing to me.

The Earth is changing. Hurricanes. Earthquakes. Tsunamis. Melting icecaps. Species going extinct. The Earth is adaptable. I wonder if we are. The wondering scares me. Reminds me of Oryx and Crake. That book enthralled me. It freaked me out.

Leave a Reply

