No Smoking

This blog is in a non-smoking section. We apologize for the inconvenience.

I only plan on going bridezilla on one matter (if I must). Everything else, I like to think I’ll remain under control about. But not smoking. Some family members might have a problem with this, but I would kindly like to remind them, this is MY wedding.

Now, I have never been a hardcore anti-smoker. I have smoked socially on enough occasions that I tend to be understanding about such things. However, when I am around smokers (and when I have smoked myself), my throat gets dry and my nose gets itchy. It can be rather uncomfortable. If I’m only around smokers for short periods of time, it’s really not too big a deal. But if I have to live in a smoker’s house or spend all night in a smoke-saturated environment, it sort of becomes an issue.

I will not tolerate watery eyes, a dry throat and an itchy nose on my wedding night. And you can’t make me. If you want to smoke, go outside or to the bar. If you want to celebrate and socialize with me, I’ll be in the non-smoking section.

I foresee this becoming an issue because of James’ mother. She’s a smoker with bad legs, so she prefers to sit somewhere where she can smoke. She is one of those old-school smokers who is baffled by the fact that various establishments in certain metropolitan areas are going smoke-free. She also has heart problems and coughs a whole lot, but that’s not the point. The point is, this decision of mine to have a smoke free wedding will probably make her feel rejected in some way. And while I don’t want to make her feel bad, I really don’t think I can compromise on this. It’s my day, and I don’t want to have to try and stay upwind of the smokers the whole night. Is that so wrong?

Leave a Reply

