Sonnet/Vomit

While I enjoy much of what my peers are producing, I have to say that it can be difficult to remember. Perhaps this is because I don’t know how to read (see last post), but perhaps it is also that there is nothing new under the sun. This is one reason that writing is a very frustrating process. My aims with form are to take tradition and twist it into some new shape via topic or word choice. Of course, I struggle with imagination at times, and most often I don’t feel like I have anything new to say or do, either. This is unfortunate. We all want to stand out, but the muse changes once you realize that you don’t have all the answers and you’re past the age of invincibility. How can you write about how little you know? How can you discuss a certain theme or object or moment when part of the little you do know points out the fact that someone else has done it–and better–before you? Writer’s block is a bitch. Especially when you have poems due in a matter of days.

Leave a Reply

